RST Racing Team gear exclusively at Cycle Division

NFTO Apparel

Triton Construction


i_Nathan Draper podium

Junior men National Road Race Championship 2014

This years National Junior Road Race Championships over a gruelling hilly course based around Ampleford College in North Yorkshire was action packed from the start. The race was always going to be active as 100 riders lined up at the start and with narrow roads and many climbs everyone wanted to be near the front. The first time up the long climb through Ampleford college grounds Joey Walker was in a break along with Aaron Handley Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo and Max Stedman Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT with the trio holding a 35 second lead. Race favourite James Shaw of Haribo Beacon launched and attack from the bunch up the climb to close down the break and soon after the bunch was together. With one lap to go Nathan Draper attacked from what remained of the bunch to chase down early leader Charlie Tanfield and Thomas Bayliss but unfortunately took across Tristain Robbins who pulled out the strongest sprint in the final, uphill 200 meters to take the win from Draper and Bayliss. Joey Walker meanwhile had attacked with 3km to go and managed to stay away to take 5th place despite crashing on a sloppy corner into the college grounds with 1.5km to go. Joe Fry led in the bunch to take 6th place so all 3 of our riders in the top six was a result the boys were proud of despite missing out on the covered jersey


a-Joey Walker break b_Nathan Draper c_Joe Fry_Joe Walker d_Naythan Draper_climb e_Naythan Draper attack f_Finish g_Joey finish h_Joe Fry finish i_Nathan Draper podium j_Podium
1 Tristan Robbins BH-Solidor-WAM Youth

2 Nathan Draper RST Racing Team

3 Thomas Baylis HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
4 Charlie Tanfield Adept Precision RT/NE Healthca…
5 Joey Walker RST Racing Team
6 Joseph Fry RST Racing Team
7 Oliver Maxwell Windmill Wheels Cycling Club
8 Stuart Balfour Spokes Racing Team
9 James Shaw HARIBO Beacon Cycling Team
10 Dan Gardner Speg – Project 51
11 Stephen Williams NFTO Race Club
12 Aaron Handley Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo
13 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven Colbornes RT
14 Jez McCann Catford CC Equipe/Banks
15 Lewis Stevens Strada-Sport
16 Ralf Hodgson Marton Race Team
17 William Perrett Heanor Clarion CC
18 Scott Auld PH-MAS Cycling
19 Oliver Payton PH-MAS Cycling
20 Callum McBrearty Nottingham Clarion CC
21 Julian Varley PH-MAS Cycling

Jul 19, 2014 | Category: Junior Team, News, Results | Comments: none